About Us Contact Us
Aspire Resources Inc.

Board of Directors Profiles

Dr. Norm Nielsen, Chair

President Emeritus, Kirkwood Community College

Dr. Norm Nielsen serves as president emeritus of Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He was president of Kirkwood from 1985 until he retired in 2005. Nielsen joined Kirkwood in 1979 as a vice president after working as a teacher, coach, principal and superintendent of schools in the Iowa public school system. After retiring from Kirkwood, Nielsen served as interim chancellor of Houston Community College in 2006 – 2007. He is past president of the League for Innovation in the Community College and has been awarded Iowa State University's Distinguished Achievement Citation and Laureate Award for prestigious service, educational leadership and personal commitment to the teaching profession, as well as the Marie Y. Martin award for community college leadership from the Association of Community College Trustees. Nielsen holds advanced degrees from Iowa State University and the University of Iowa. He has served on the Aspire Resources Inc. board since 2006.

Dr. John Hartung, Vice Chair


Before taking on his current role as consultant on job coaching, placement and fundraising for not-for-profits in 2008, Dr. John Hartung was president of the Iowa Association of Independent Colleges & Universities 1984 through 2007. He previously served as vice president for college relations and associate professor of education at Simpson College in Iowa and as vice president for academic affairs, professor of education/psychology and coach at Dakota Wesleyan University in South Dakota. Hartung has also taught and coached at the high school level. He received his doctorate at Southern Illinois University Carbondale in 1973 and currently serves on the boards of the Iowa Sports Foundation, Iowa Higher Education Loan Authority, Dakota Wesleyan University and Iowa Senior Olympics. Hartung has served on the Aspire board since 2009.

Catherine "Kay" E. Beyerink

Retired Chief Executive Officer, Telco Triad Community Credit Union

Kay Beyerink retired in 2013 after serving as CEO of Telco Triad Community Credit Union in Sioux City. She is a member of the Credit Union Executive Society and has served in many officer positions with the Northwest Iowa Chapter of Credit Unions. She is a past director and has served on numerous committees with the Iowa Credit Union League. Beyerink is a member of the Noon Sertoma Club and the T.T.T. Chapter AC, and she has worked for many years at the community level for the Children's Miracle Network, the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation, the Sioux City Chamber of Commerce and the Spencer Chamber of Commerce. She is past president of the Better Business Bureau of Siouxland. Beyerink was elected to the Aspire board in July 2013.

John Hintze

Shareholder, Ahlers & Cooney, P.C.

Before joining Ahlers & Cooney, P.C., in 1994, John Hintze was senior vice president and general counsel for Pioneer Hi-Bred International in Des Moines. After receiving his law degree with distinction, Order of the Coif, from the University of Iowa in 1973, Hintze was a partner at Davis, Hockenberg, Wine, Brown, Koehn & Shors in Des Moines and a founder and shareholder at Sheerer, Hintze and Templer, P.C. He has served on the boards for the Blank Park Zoo Foundation, the Iowa Association of Business & Industry, the Greater Des Moines Chamber of Commerce, the West Des Moines Chamber of Commerce and the West Des Moines Development Corporation, among many others. Hintze has served on the Aspire board since 2001.

Tony Kaska

President and CEO, Midwest Heritage Bank

Tony Kaska joined Midwest Heritage Bank in 1992 and was promoted to president and CEO in 2009. Kaska currently lives in Chariton, Iowa. He is a past board member of the Lucas County Development Corp. and currently serves on the board for Chariton Arts and Recreation, is a member of the Shazam board and serves on the education committee for the Greater Des Moines Partnership regional workforce/education board. A native of Mount Pleasant, Kaska holds a bachelor's degree in marketing from Northeast Missouri State and is a graduate of the Graduate School of Banking in Boulder, Colorado. Kaska joined the Aspire board in January 2016.

About Us Contact Us
6775 Vista Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266-9305
Copyright ©2012-2017 Aspire Resources Inc.®